A Bit About Driving

2016 is definitely the year of “holistic overhaul”.  Not the most eloquent title I could have chosen, but it will do for now. For those of you who don’t know, last year I passed my driving test at the grand old age of 30. Hurrah!  Finally, with my own set of wheels and breakdown cover, the country was my oyster!

However, weeks after acquiring my first car I parked it on a hill and the handbrake wasn’t on properly, cue car rolling down said hill, across a main road and into a garden wall.  Luckily nobody was hurt, but car was a write-off.  A month later, we bought my current car (a black Ford Fiesta 5-door).  It’s a lovely car, and apart from a few little niggles here and there (it is over a decade old and has done a LOT of mileage) it’s served us well.

The problem, and more so since littlest was born which definitely makes me think a lot of this is related to PND, is that I get so anxious about my driving performance and what other road users are going to think of my lack of experience that I try and avoid driving whenever I can.  This in itself has the benefit of more exercise; especially pushing a tandem pushchair up steep hills!  However I know that if I avoid driving, it will reinforce the problem.  The reason I am talking about this today is because this morning, I noticed the weather was a bit miserable and my legs are still a bit sore from my pushchair walk yesterday. I was on the verge of texting my mum to ask for a lift(!) when I stopped and thought – I have a perfectly good car and am more than capable of driving the short distance to my mum’s house.

In fact, as I was loading the smalls in and starting the journey, I felt fine. I know for most people driving isn’t even a thing…it’s just the same as walking or getting on a bus so eventually it probably won’t feel like so much of an ordeal. Hopefully this summer I will get out in the car more and build my confidence on the road!

 

Leave a Reply

