Of Wheels and Legs – A Good Day

I think it’s really important to acknowledge and celebrate a good day. You don’t know when they’re going to happen; some people are lucky enough to experience every day as good, and for others they are a rarity if they ever occur at all.  Personally, my anxiety has been pretty high recently to the extent where “good” days seem to be on the lesser scale but today was one of them.

This morning, at about 6.45am (thanks smallest baby for being up at 5,30!) I drove to work for my exit interview and to hand in my smart card, I.D. badge and locker key.  I am now a former call handler/coach for the NHS 111 service and no doubt I will reflect on this time in a separate post.  But I did it, first time driving since the holiday and I hit the dual carriageway on my own and then confidently loaded the smalls and husband into the car to do our weekly shop!

There are some bits we have to get elsewhere, e.g. I am not a fan of the chicken or bananas from Aldi so we went into town to go to Sainsbury’s and had  a lovely walk by the river in the sunshine to get these items.  Then we had lunch and both boys had a good afternoon nap, and I may have closed my eyes for half an hour too.

This afternoon, I took toddler to the park for the first time without a pushchair.  Initially, he was only interested in opening he gates and making them clang as loudly as possible as they closed and he was most upset when I intervened so as not to spoil the peace of the other park users.  But soon he was on the swings, had several goes on the slide and even sat on the roundabout and didn’t make a fuss when it was time to go home.

 

For dinner, I made a delicious concoction of mashed potato mixed with chives and cream cheese, then pan-fried some leeks, spring onions, peppers, onions, peas, tuna and sweetcorn.  I mixed everything together, sprinkled some cheese on top and bunged it in the oven until the cheese melted and it was delicious.

 

The kids’ bathtime was a bit stressful, something had upset the littlest small so I had to call husband to come and help.  He didn’t want milk and took a long time to settle; eventually husband came and took over so I could go for a run.  I ran about 3k then as I was heading back I saw some friends in the beer garden of my local pub and they bought me a diet coke and I had a lovely catch up.

 

Physical exercise is so good for mental health, I have said it before and will no doubt say it again!  So there you go, that was my good day and I am happy to have shared it. Tomorrow: some more CBT work!

Leave a Reply

