Being vs Doing

I have had a much better day today, probably because I have had better sleep thanks to the baby sleeping in his own bed all night last night!  I have eaten better, and managed to ration myself to one episode of Sons of Anarchy so I could spend some time with my “Practical Mindfulness” book.

 

Tonight, I have been reading about the difference between being and doing.  To be mindful is to have a mind that is experiencing “being” rather than busy “doing”.  I shall try and articulate this a little more clearly; a busy mind with distraction and anxiety is not in the moment but elsewhere, so is therefore not able to experience mindfulness.

 

When the mind is busy doing, it is occupied by

  • Judgement
  • Self-Criticism
  • Problem-Solving
  • Engaging with feelings, past and present
  • Remembering
  • Speculating
  • Reacting

 

When we are simply being, (simply,ha!) our minds are aiming to experience the now with

  • non-judgement
  • Acceptance
  • Passivity
  • Non-Engagement
  • Living in the Moment
  • Attention
  • Responsiveness

 

It looks a lot when listed like this, however the latter list to me encompasses what mindfulness is all about, and how i can use it as a tool to deal with everyday anxieties and to help cope with addressing my phobia.  I found today that a few times I felt a bit short with the children; their behaviours were making me very quickly feel annoyed or angry (tell me a parent who doesn’t ever feel like this at one time or another) so I was really working on accepting my feelings, and responding to them without reacting.

 

I found that when I was putting toddler to bed, writing down my feelings helped me to deal with them so that I wasn’t dwelling on how angry and frustrated I felt when he decided it was time to squawk and climb out of bed several times.  And of course my patience and calm mindset paid off as eventually he stayed in bed and is sleeping soundly!  But my focus was on being mindful. accepting what was happening and letting any emotion I felt drift away onto the paper.

Ironically as I am typing this i can hear the baby stirring so it’s time to pack up the laptop and go settle him, but I am glad to be back on it with my studies and getting pleasantly lost in the world of Mindfulness!

3 thoughts on “Being vs Doing

  1. Great stuff, thanks for sharing! 🙂

    I totally agree that being and doing are two completely different things and a lot of people have minds that are busy doing. It can be hard to shift your mindset into ‘being’ but with practise and time it is definitely possible.

    I have found that meditation has helped me with this. I do this when I wake up in the mornings and it sets me up for the day. Guided meditation has taught me the practise of coming back to the breath and present moment when my mind starts to wonder, and I’ve been able to apply this to everyday life.

    I would definitely recommend the ‘headspace’ app or ‘calm’ app if you aren’t already using them!

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing! 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habit. The episode with Derek Doepker may be of interest to you where he discusses how to make lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read and reply to my posts, your comments were lovely to read and most helpful! Have made a reminder to listen to the podcast and to remind myself to meditate when I wake up tomorrow. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

